Powerful start keeps Dunboyne on track

Powerful start keeps Dunboyne on track

Dunboyne… 4-20

Seneschalstown… 2-06

It’s quite likely Dunboyne boss Conor O’Donoghue will have demanded a reaction from his players after their profligacy almost undid them against Skryne. On that front, they delivered handsomely at McManus Park.

From the moment Donal Lenihan pointed within seconds of the throw in, the 2018 winners had a more business-like approach than 14 days ago. The corner forward accounted for four of his side’s first five points, full back Gavin McCoy driving forward to flash over the other. Then, in a frantic spell, the sides twice traded goals with each other – Shane McEntee and Cathal Lacey netted for Dunboyne, the two Cathals, Hickey and Finnegan, for Anthony Malone’s side. However, any thoughts the Yellow Furze side had of launching a retrieval mission were quickly extinguished when Ronan Jones cut in along the endline and blasted past David Gordon.

Seneschalstown’s Cormac Noonan goes highest as Cathal Finn, Cathal Hickey and Shane McEntee await developments

That left the black and ambers clear by 3-10 to 2-03 at the change of ends. Though it was fairly clear at that stage what the eventual outcome was going to be, the leaders remained driven throughout the second period, posting another 1-10 to their tally which may prove important when it comes to the number crunching for the knockout places.

Dunboyne: C. Flynn; S. Lavin, G. McCoy, J. Scannell; S. Ryan, C. Lowndes, S. McEntee; J. Donnelly, R. Jones; S. Lowndes, C. Finn, C. Doran; C. Lacey, J. Daly, D. Lenihan. Subs; J McLoughlin for Scannell, N. Jones for Finn, F. Watters for Daly, Daly for Lenihan.

Seneschalstown: D. Gordon; M. Fox, S. Rooney, W. Nicholson; R. Conneely, J. Smith, A. Carey (c); C. Noonan, C. Hickey; B. Clarke, B. Sheridan, S. Carey; C. Finnegan, D. Commons, E. Finnegan.

Referee: B. Tiernan (O’Dwyers, Dublin)

[wpedon id=5497]

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: