Efficiency with and without the ball sees Dunboyne through

Dunboyne… 1-13


Dunboyne’s superior efficiency with possession and alacrity at depriving their opponents of same made this Group D closer at Pairc Tailteann surprisingly one-sided.

With both sides already qualified for the knockout stages, the not inconsiderable carrot on offer was avoidance of treble chasing Ratoath at the third last hurdle. However, while the history between these sides suggested there shouldn’t have been much between the sides, the black and ambers were comfortable to disarm any threats to their goal thanks to their superiority at effecting turnovers and making the ball do the work for them at the other end.

Donal Lenihan and Eoghan Frayne traded scores early on, but the 2018 winners tellingly upped the tempo in the second quarter as the lead by 0-06 to 0-02 at the first water break and they maintained the four point gap at the short whistle, 0-08 to 0-04. Scores coming from Seamus Lavin, Jordan McLoughlin, Ronan Jones, David McEntee and Lenihan.

When Summerhill registered early in the second half, it appeared they might have been about to haul themselves back into contest, but that actually turned out to be their last score until injury time as Dunboyne again assumed control. Their highly impressive midfielder Jack Donnelly lofted over two mighty scores while Shane McEntee, Michael Murphy and Lenihan (free) also pointed before Cathal Lacey’s goal-den touch surfaced again to put an extra layer of gloss on a polished performance.

Cathal Lacey closes in on goal

Dunboyne; C. Flynn; S. Lavin (0-1), G. McCoy, J. McLoughlin (0-1); S. Ryan, C. Lowndes, S. McEntee (0-1); J. Donnelly (0-2), R. Jones (0-1); S. Lowndes, M. Murphy (0-1), C. Doran; C. Lacey (1-00), D. McEntee (0-1), D. Lenihan (0-5). Subs; N. Jones, F. Waters, C. Bradley, L.Byrne.

Summerhill; T. McDonnell; W. Ryan, R. Ryan, P. Jennings; A. McDonnell, P. Geraghty, J. Lavelle; M. Byrne, D. McCabe; D. Larkin, P. Larkin, C. Lyons; C. Frayne, D. Dalton, E. Frayne.

Referee: D. Coldrick (Blackhall Gaels)

FOGRA: A moment’s silence was observed prior to throw-in as a mark of respect to Vincent Nangle and Mrs Mairead Lyons (Summerhill) and Ms Karen Fahey (Dunboyne). My deepest sympathies to the families and friends of the deceased. Especially Marie and the Fahey family, with Karen’s passing coming so suddenly and only week’s after that of her dad, our former Chairman, Myles.

Leave a Reply