Second half goal salvo sees Tuaisceart on top

An Tuaisceart…4-10


In last night’s other fixture at wet and windy Dunganny, the Brian Farrell-managed An Tuaisceart – comprising players from Nobber, Meath Hill, Drumconrath, Kilmainhamwood, Syddan and Castletown – netted four times after half time to ease past the Darnley combination which represent the Clan Na nGael, Dunderry, Cortown and St Ultan’s clubs.

Only a point separated the sides at the interval, the men from the north of the county edging it by 0-06 to 0-05 at the change of ends. With Nobber’s Sean Meade and Stephen Coogan of Dunderry impressive for their respective teams.

Nobber’s Sean Meade bagged 1-4

However, those clad in red and black went goal crazy after half time with Meade, who ended up with an impressive 1-4 to his name, Gary Breslin, Gary Traynor and Breslin’s Meath Hill colleague Cormac Sheehy each filling the onion bag. All of which rendered Coogan’s seven point haul for the all whites completely in vain.

An Tuaisceart – Sean Meade 1-4, 1-0 penalty, two frees; Kevin Traynor 1-1; Gary Breslin 1-0; Cormac Sheehy 1-0; Niall Farrell 0-2 one free; Declan Cribbin 0-1; Shane Hoey 0-1; Killian Price 0-1.

Darnley – Stephen Coogan 0-7 six frees; Emmet Costello 0-1.

An Tuaisceart Dary Hutchinson (Nobber); Barry Cassidy (Nobber), Evan Hoey (Castletown), Mark Fedigan (Syddan); James Mooney (Meath Hill), Kevin Traynor (Syddan), Niall Farrell (Nobber); Thomas Murtagh (Nobber), Ryan Owens (Meath Hill); Shane Hoey (Castletown), Sean Meade (Nobber), Gary Breslin (Meath Hill); Cormac Sheehy (Meath Hill), Declan Cribbin (Castletown), Paddy Matthews (Meath Hill). Subs – Killian Price (Castletown) for Matthews half-time, Ryan Summersby (Syddan) for Owens 44 mins, Eanna Fagan (Nobber) for Cassidy 60m, Killian Russell (Kilmainhamwood) for S Hoey 62m, Thomas Conlon (Drumconrath) for Cribbin 63m.

Darnley: Sean Brennan (Dunderry); Declan Ball (St Ultan’s), Sean Traynor (Dunderry), Carl Kelly (Clann na Gael); Ryan McNamee (Clann na Gael), Jack Doherty (Clann na nGael), Darren Kelly (Clann na nGael); Darragh Swaine (Clann na Gael), Hugh Staunton (Cortown); Diarmaid O’Donnchadha (Clann na Gael), Adam Rogers (St Ultan’s), Aaron Newman (Dunderry); Eamon O Donnchadha (Clann na Gael), Stephen Coogan (Dunderry), Emmet Costello (St Ultan’s). Subs – Eoin Griffin (Clann na Gael) for Brennan half-time, Ruairí Buchanan (St Ultan’s) for Costello 40 mins, Tommy Buchanan (St Ultan’s) for Rogers 42m, Thomas Doyle (Clann na nGael) for C Kelly 50m, Ciarán Keating (Cortown) for McNamee 55m, Theo Staunton (Cortown) for Ball 57m.

Referee – Keith Sheerin (Drumconrath).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: