Plenty of fresh faces for O’Byrne opener

Meath manager Colm O’Rourke has announced his starting 15 and subs list for Wednesday night’s O’Byrne Cup opener against Carlow at Netwatch Dr Cullen Park.

Therein, for his first competitive game in charge, the new boss has included some players who were regulars more recently, others making a return to the fold while there will be other lads getting their first shot at inter county fare at the highest level.

Donal Keogan will anchor the defence from centre back, behind which Harry O’Higgins (Drumbarragh Emmets) and Dunderry’s Sean Brennan take up duty at full back and between the posts respectably.

The O’Rourke era is about to begin in earnest

Further up field, Brian Conlon of Simonstown Gaels returns to the fray, forming a new midfield partnership with Daithi McGowan from county champions Ratoath while Skryne’s Darragh Campion will lead the attack. Also up front, Curraha’s Moriarity brothers – Conor and Diarmuid – and Aaron Lynch of Trim embark on their maiden voyage.


Sean Brennan (Dunderry);

James O’Hare (Rathkenny),

Harry O’Higgins (Drumbarragh Emmets),

Sean Rafferty (Na Fianna);

Eoin Harkin (Dunsany),

Donal Keogan (Rathkenny),

Cathal Hickey (Seneschalstown);

Daithi McGowan (Ratoath),

Brian Conlon (Simonstown Gaels);

Conor Moriarity (Curraha),

Darragh Campion (Skryne),

Darragh Campion – Skryne

Jason Scully (Oldcastle);

Mathew Costello (Dunshaughlin)

Diarmuid Moriarity (Curraha)

Aaron Lynch (Trim).


Harry Hogan (Longwood)

Conor Quigley (Trim)

Robin Clarke (Duleek/Bellewstown)

Michael Flood (St Brigid’s)

Shane McEntee (St Peter’s, Dunboyne)

Jack O’Connor (Curraha)

Donal Lenihan (St Peter’s, Dunboyne)

Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey)

Keith Curtis (Rathkenny)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: