No major surprises in Ireland Six Nations squad

The inclusion of Leinster’s uncapped centre Jamie Osborne is the only occurrence of note in Andy Farrell’s Ireland squad for the forthcoming Six Nations Championship announced this morning.

Some would no doubt lament the exclusion of Joey Carbery as equally newsworthy but, in the opinion of this writer, sooner rather than later the Athy man will do well to get his place with Munster – owing to the emergence of Jack Crowley (who is, incidentally, included), never mind Ireland. Hopefully.

Naas man Jamie Osborne

Elsewhere, James Lowe, Jordan Larmour and Jacob Stockdale can consider themselves very fortunate to have got the nod. Especially the latter given that it has at the very least been touted that he may be about to have his IRFU central contract discontinued. Meanwhile, Leinster’s Max Deegan can count himself unlucky to have missed the cut.

His omission coming about as a result of Farrell and his assistant being resplendent with back row options. Something only further augmented by the telling return to form of Gavin Coombes.


Backs (17): Bundee Aki, Ross Byrne, Craig Casey, Jack Crowley, Keith Earls, Jamison Gibson Park, Mack Hansen, Hugo Keenan, Jordan Larmour, James Lowe, Stuart McCloskey, Conor Murray, Jimmy O’Brien, Jamie Osborne, Garry Ringrose, Johnny Sexton (captain), Jacob Stockdale

Forwards (20): Ryan Baird, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Gavin Coombes, Caelan Doris, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, Rónan Kelleher, Dave Kilcoyne, Joe McCarthy, Peter O’Mahony, Tom O’Toole, Andrew Porter, Cian Prendergast, James Ryan, Dan Sheehan, Josh van der Flier

Leave a Reply