Minors shuffle the decks for the Dubs

There are three changes in personnel and a number of positional alterations on the Meath Minor football team to take on Dublin in Round 2 of the ESB Leinster MFC at Pairc Tailteann this evening. Throw in for the latest encounter between the old foes is at 6.30pm.

Having impressed when introduced off the bench in last week’s victory over Westmeath in Kinnegad, both Michael McIvor (St Vincent’s) and John Harkin (St Peter’s, Dunboyne) are retained in the starting 15 in the places of Oisin Yore and Pat Crawley respectively, while, poignantly fittingly, on the day Johnny Sullivan is laid to rest, Oisin Black of St Patrick’s replacing John Gormley. There are also several significant positional re-alignments also.

Dunboyne’s John Harkin is rewarded for a fine performance when introduced last week.

Most notably, team Captain Eamon Armstrong goes from centre field to wing back. Elsewhere, Dunboyne’s Cian Duggan goes from wing forward to wing back, and the Dunderry duo Oisin O’Neill and Cormac Liggan move from the backs to the forwards.

MEATH – Brayden Colfer (Slane); Oliver Maloney (Walterstown), Paddy White (Ratoath), Conor Black (St Patrick’s); Cian Duggan (St Peter’s, Dunboyne), Thomas Sheridan (Oldcastle), Eamon Armstrong (Duleek-Bellewstown, Capt.); Cian Commins (Seneschalstown), Michael McIvor (St Vincent’s); Billy Smyth (Skryne), Ben Corkery (Clann Na nGael), David Donnelly (Bective); John Harkin (St Peter’s, Dunboyne), Oisin O’Neill (Dunderry), Cormac Liggan (Dunderry).

SUBS – Jamie McCormack (St Peter’s, Dunboyne), Pat Crawley (Oldcastle), Rory Crawley (Oldcastle), Andrew Gormley (Gaeil Colmcille), John Gormley (Gaeil Colmcille), Liam Jennings (Blackhall Gaels), Tom Lenehan (Skryne), Manny Magno (Summerhill), Naoise Maguire (St Colmcille’s), Sean McLoughlin (Dunderry), Sean McNulty (St Peter’s, Dunboyne), Jamie Norris (Seneschalstown), Ciaran O’Hare (Rathkenny), Padraig Walsh (Trim), Cillian Yore (St Ultan’s), Oisin Yore (Carnaross)

Leave a Reply