Keeping it in the parish for date with Na Deise

Daithi McGowan replaces his stricken Ratoath colleague Jack Flynn in the only change to the Meath team from last weekend ahead of tomorrow’s Tailteann Cup Round 2 encounter against Waterford in Fraher Field, Dungarvan.

The same switch was necessitated at half time against Tipperary when the luckless half forward aggravated an ankle ailment which has hampered the impact he has been able to make during the campaign to date. To the best of my knowledge, the last time Meath and Waterford teams crossed swords in a men’s football match was in the All Ireland JFC Final of 1999 at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise. When a last minute effort from a raiding corner back sent the silverware to the sunny South East.

McGowan’s inclusion in the single alteration to the starting 15 but the bench is again freshened up as Cian Rogers of Ratoath and Summerhill’s Eoghan Frayne of Summerhill called up for the first time.

Cian Rogers is fully deserving of his call up

MEATH – S. Brennan; A. O’Neill, R. Ryan, M. Flood; D. Keogan, P. Harnan, S. Coffey; R. Jones, C. Gray; C. O’Sullivan, D. McGowan, J. O’Connor; J. Morris, M. Costello, A. Lynch.

SUBS – H. Hogan, H. O’Higgins, J. McEntee, J. O’Regan, D. Moriarity, C. Hickey, K. Curtis, D. Lenihan, B. Wyer, C. Rogers, E. Frayne

Leave a Reply