Lannigan’s Ball one more time

“I stepped out/And I stepped in again” So begins the chorus of the breathless, brilliant Lannigan’s Ball. And it seems the most appropriate synopsis of Meath’s team selections during the Tailteann Cup campaign. Primarily because a few players – Cathal Hickey, Ronan Jones, Jack Flynn and Daithi McGowan have been involved in a revolving door system. With two of the quartet being listed to start in the published line up but, come game day, it would be the other pair who lined up for the throw in.

So let’s have the chorus one more time. On paper at least, Jones and McGowan come back in with the other duo going in the opposite direction ahead of tomorrow’s Final against Down in Croke Park. Will the team line out as selected? Unfortunately, Mystic Meg has gone to her eternal reward, so your guess is as good as mine on that score.

To tidy up the housekeeping, Ratoath’s Ben Wyer returns to the matchday panel with Michael Murphy of St Peter’s, Dunboyne making way. Were Wyer to see active service in Saturday’s decider, the defender would become the 14th player to make a Championship debut for the county this season.

Colm O’Rourke’s Meath are going the right way

MEATH: Sean Brennan (Dunderry); Adam O’Neill (Wolfe Tones), Ronan Ryan (Summerhill), Harry O’Higgins (Drumbarragh Emmets); Donal Keogan (Capt., Rathkenny), Padraic Harnan (Moynalvey), Sean Coffey (Ballinabrackey); Ronan Jones (St Peter’s, Dunboyne), Conor Gray (Dunshaughlin); Daithi McGowan (Ratoath), James McEntee (Curraha), Jack O’Connor (Curraha); Jordan Morris (Kingscourt Stars, Cavan), Mat Costello (Dunshaughlin), Aaron Lynch (Trim).

SUBS: Harry Hogan (Longwood), Ciaran Caulfield (Trim), Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey), Cathal Hickey (Seneschalstown), Jack Flynn (Ratoath), Eoghan Frayne (Summerhill), Michael Flood (St Brigid’s), Donal Lenihan (St Peter’s, Dunboyne), Diarmuid Moriarity (Curraha), Keith Curtis (Rathkenny), Ben Wyer (Ratoath)

Leave a Reply